Skip to content

For Mr. Stein.

November 5, 2010

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have been working to finish up my “World’s Fair” banner over the course of several months. I wrapped it up just in time to display it for the opening tonight. During this process my former instructor, and now colleague, Bob Stein, stopped by and asked “Where’s the L, D and S?” He had been following the show’s progress on the blog. He was also inquiring because he had shared my art with his Typography class just next door to my own. I was in shock; Mr. Stein had used my artwork as an example in his classroom! Show be damned I am on cloud nine already due this information.
So, here it is Mr. Stein, in its entirety and on time.
Consider it my ode to your class.
May I have extra-credit for completing the word ‘Fair’?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jeffrokilpatrick permalink*
    November 5, 2010 8:56 pm

    Dude – this may be my favorite thing you’ve ever done. Love that the lines are crunchier than usual. I’m a sucker for texture. Really great work!

    • November 12, 2010 2:01 am

      Considering I have referred to you in the past as the “King of the Crunchy Line” I am truly humbled by the compliment. Thank You.

  2. melissalomax permalink*
    November 7, 2010 4:03 pm

    This letter grouping is totally astounding! I love the creative usage of each letter, the style of the pen work and the feeling I got when I finally saw all of the letters spelling out ‘World’s Fair’… so impressive. I am extremely proud of the art show, the curators (a.k.a. you and Chedda) and the turnout that we received. Yet another confirmation that hard (but fun) work pays off! Lastly, it made me smile when I saw that Bob Stein has been following our World’s Fair Blog and liked your typography- it’s a perfect match! Well done to you and everyone involved, the World’s Fair Show is a grand success!

Leave a Reply

